Dig a Little Deeper

Having a six year old daughter, I’ve seen my fair share of Disney princess movies and I have to admit that The Princess and the Frog is my favorite. I love the characters, setting, and the music throughout the film. My favorite part is when Mama Odie sings, “Dig a Little Deeper.” That song sets the tone for the remainder of the story. Turns out, that song can set the tone for the remainder of our story too.

I recently wrote a blog titled, Reforming the Teaching Profession in which I mention three problems: teacher pay, teacher training, and teacher professionalism. I stand by these problems, but what I didn’t do was dig a little deeper and offer possible solutions. Luckily, a respected educator and friend read the article and reached out and basically said unless I offer solutions, I’m just another teacher complaining in the teachers’ lounge. He is exactly right! These problems are not new to anyone. I’m not even sure that the second one, teacher training is a problem, per se. A disconnect may be more appropriate when discussing teacher training. Nonetheless, regarding that post, I now realize I need to dig a little deeper–and I will. Just not right now.

I’m going to try to apply Mama Odie’s advice in more areas of my life. I’m going to dig a little deeper in my relationship with God and my family. I’m going to dig a little deeper when teaching my students. I’m going to dig a little deeper in playing and writing music. I’m going to dig a little deeper during my morning workouts. I’m going to dig a little deeper in reading and writing things that matter to me.

You gotta dig a little deeper

Find out who you are

You gotta dig a little deeper

It really ain’t that far

–Randy Newman

odie1

Leave a comment